Portadown are back in Danske Bank Premiership action this evening (Tues 3 March) when we travel to the Coleraine Showgrounds to take on Coleraine, kick off 7:45pm

Coleraine come into the game off the back of a 2-1 win over Warrenpoint Town on Saturday while Portadown suffered a 2-1 reverse to Ballymena United at Shamrock Park. Coleraine are unbeaten in their last 12 Danske Bank Premiership matches with their last defeat coming against Dungannon Swifts back on the 4th December, in fact they’ve recorded 9 wins in those 12 unbeaten games with only ourselves, Linfield & Cliftonville managing to stop Oran Kerney’s men from taking maximum points during that run.

The last time the two teams met was earlier this season, 6 February 2021, with the game ending in a 1-1 draw after Adam Salley’s strike cancelled out Stewart Nixon’s goal for Coleraine. Portadown would finish the match with 10 men after goal scorer Salley seen a straight red in the closing stages.

You have to go back to February 2016 for Portadown’s last competitive victory over Coleraine, a 3-1 win at Shamrock Park in the Irish Cup thanks to goals from Ken Oman, Gary Twigg and Philip Lowry.  In league matters it’s New Years Day 2015 since the Ports sealed all 3 points against Coleraine, a 1-0 win at the Showgrounds thanks to a Mark McAllister header while the last league win against the Bannsiders at Shamrock Park was a 2-0 win back 14 December 2013 with goals from Chris Ramsey and Gary Twigg. In fact Coleraine have won 7 of the last 8 (one of these being an automatic 3-0 win) Premiership meetings between the sides.

Portadown duo Greg Hall and George Tipton should return to the squad after missing Saturdays defeat to Ballymena United due to suspension and concussion respectively.

This evenings game will be live streamed by Coleraine TV via https://www.247.tv/niprem


The officials are – Referee – Ross Dunlop / Assistant 1 – Ken Ross  / Assistant 2 – Neil Gillespie / 4th official – Shane McGonigle



  • Coleraine – D, W, D, W, W (2nd in DBP)
  • Portadown –  D, D, D, L, L (10th in DBP)


Last Five Head to Head

  • Saturday 6 February 2021 – Coleraine 1 (Nixon) Portadown 1 (Salley)
  • Saturday 24 October 2020 – Portadown 0 Coleraine 3 (Doherty, Glackin, McLaughlin)
  • Saturday 14 January 2017 – Coleraine 4 (Lyons 2, McCafferty, McCauley) Portadown 2 (Foley, Byrne)
  • Saturday 15 October 2016 – Portadown 0 Coleraine 1 (Lyons)
  • Saturday 12 March 2016 – Portadown 0 Coleraine 1 (Brown)


Last Five Head to Head at the Showgrounds (All competitions)

  • Saturday 6 February 2021 – Coleraine 1 (Nixon) Portadown 1 (Salley)
  • Saturday 14 January 2017 – Coleraine 4 (Lyons 2, McCafferty, McCauley) Portadown 2 (Foley, Byrne)
  • Saturday 7 November 2015 – Coleraine 4 (McCauley 3, McLaughlin) Portadown 0
  • Thursday 1 January 2015 – Coleraine 0 Portadown 1 (McAllister)
  • Friday 29 August 2014 – Coleraine 0 Portadown 0