Portadown lost 4-1 this afternoon to Dungannon Swifts at Shamrock Park in the Danske Bank Premiership.

Going into today’s game, the Ports made 3 changes from last weekends 1-0 defeat to Carrick Rangers, with Harry Doherty, Oran Jackson and Sam Glenfield replacing Jethren Barr, Adam McCallum and Oisin Conaty.

Dungannon Swifts made only the change from their 3-1 defeat to Cliftonville seven days ago, with Joe McCready replacing Caolan McAleer.

Portadown had an opportunity within the first minute when midfielder Sammie McLeod curled a long range effort just wide of the post.

Dungannon would have the lead not long after when Ryan Mayse finished from a tight angle after linking up with captain Oisin Smyth from a corner routine.

On 10 minutes it very nearly was 2-0 when Rhyss Campbell’s shot was deflected inches past the post by Michael Ruddys block.

On 13 minutes Dungannon had another really good opportunity when a vertical ball across the box was just too much for Cahal McGinty to make contact with in what would have been a certain goal.

On 21 minutes Portadown had an opportunity when Michael Ruddy had a header go wide of Alex Moore’s goal.

On 24 minutes Portadown had a good opportunity when a Sam Warde free kick from around 25 yards came off the post.

On 31 minutes it would be 2-0. Substitute Adam Glenny dispossessed Stephen Teggart in the box before finding Joe McCready whose shot was parried by Ports keeper Doherty who couldn’t prevent the ball crossing the line.

On the brink of half time, the Ports pulled a goal back when referee Tim Marshall deemed that Ethan McGee impeded Michael Ruddy in the box. Sam Warde would have his penalty saved by Alex Moore with Sammie McLeod scoring from the rebound to make it 2-1.

Half time:
Portadown 1 (McLeod 45’)
Dungannon Swifts 2 (Mayse 2’, McCready 34’)

The Ports had an opportunity on the 47th minute when Lee Bonis had a shot trickle across the face of goal before being cleared by the Dungannon defence in what was a good opportunity for the Ports. Stephen Teggart would send the ball over the bar soon after.

Dungannon had a good opportunity on 51 minutes when a Rhyss Campbell cross flashed across the face of goal and inches wide of the post.

On 52 minutes Dungannon went close again when Cahal McGinty had a header parried into the path of Rhyss Campbell whose close range shot was cleared off the line by George Tipton.

On 53 minutes Dungannon had an opportunity when Oisin Smyth had a free kick cannon off the crossbar from around 20 yards.

On 54 minutes the visitors would restore their two goal lead when Cahal McGinty tapped in from close range following a ball into the box by Michael Glynn.

On 62 minutes it would be 4-1. Oisin Smyth’s cross was stuck past the keeper by Rhyss Campbell.

On 68 minutes Michael Ruddys deep cross was parried into the path of Ports midfielder Sammie McLeod who couldn’t hit the target.

On 71 minutes Ports substitute Adam Salley had an effort from close range saved by Alex Moore following a Greg Hall cross.

Full time score:
Portadown 1 (McLeod 45’)
Dungannon Swifts 4 (Mayse 2’, McCready 34’)

Match officials:
Referee – Tim Marshall
Assistant 1 – Andrew Nethery
Assistant 2 – Adam Jeffrey
4th official – Ross Dunlop

Portadown XI (managed by Matthew Tipton): 1.Doherty (GK), 2.Hall (booked 90’), 3.Ruddy, 5.Finnegan, 8.Tipton (replaced by McKeown 60’), 10.Bonis (C), 12.Jackson (replaced by Anderson 83’), 20.Teggart (replaced by Salley 55’), 22.McLeod (scorer 45’), 23.Warde (replaced by Conaty 60’), 24.Glenfield (replaced by Lavery 55’)

Portadown substitutes: 13.Brown (GK) (unused), 6.McKeown, 7.Lavery, 9.Salley, 11.Anderson, 14.Conaty, 15.Kerr (unused)

Dungannon Swifts XI (managed by Dean Shiels): 1.Moore (GK), 3.Glynn, 4.Cowan (booked 6’) (replaced by Glenny 29’), 8.Mayse (scorer 2’), (booked 4’), (replaced by McAleer 77’), 9.McCready (scorer 31’), (replaced by Knowles 70’), 10.Smyth (C), 11.Campbell (replaced by Gallagher 77’), 17.McGinty (booked 88’), 22.McBrien, 27.McGee, 28.Conway

Dungannon Swifts substitutes: 23.Quinn (GK) (unused), 6.Knowles, 7.McAleer, 15.Gallagher, 24.Devlin (unused), 26.Glenny (booked 58’), 47.Convie (unused)

Written by Alex Morrison.