Portadown are back at Shamrock Park for another Danske Bank Premiership season on Saturday (20 August) when we take on Coleraine, kick off 3pm

Portadown come into the game off the back of a 4-0 defeat to reigning Irish League champions Linfield on Sunday at Windsor Park in their opening Premiership game while Coleraine had an impressive 3-1 win at the Showgrounds over last seasons runners up, Cliftonville.

The four meetings between the clubs last season would see a mixed bag of results with each sharing a win a piece in Premiership matters, Coleraine winning 2-0 at the Showgrounds in October while the Ports picked up all 3 points with a 2-0 at Shamrock Park in the March, the other Premiership meeting between the sides ended in a drab 0-0 draw in January. Coleraine would also pick up a victory over the Ports in the Irish Cup with a 2-0 win in February.

Before Portadown’s win over Coleraine in March you had to go back to February 2016 for Portadown’s last competitive victory over the Bannsiders, a 3-1 win at Shamrock Park in the Irish Cup thanks to goals from Ken Oman, Gary Twigg and Philip Lowry.  In league matters you’d to go all the way back to New Years Day 2015 and a 1-0 win at the Showgrounds thanks to a Mark McAllister header. In fact the 2-0 win last season against the Bannsiders was the first league victory for the Ports at Shamrock Park since a 2-0 win back in December 2013 when goals from Chris Ramsey and Gary Twigg secured the 3 points. Coleraine have won 9 of the last 12 (one of these being an automatic 3-0 win) Premiership meetings between the sides.

Coleraine have arguably had the best summer transfer window of any Premiership club, bringing in Dean Brown from Limavady Utd, Dean Jarvis & Lee Lynch from Larne, Jack O’Mahony from Glenavon, Michael McCrudden & Connor McDermott from Cliftonville, Kieran Farren from Dergview & Evan McLaughlin on loan from Derry City – McLaughlin would score twice for Coleraine on Saturday in his competitive debut for the club against Cliftonville.


Portadown manager Paul Doolin had the following preview for supporters

It’s the first home of the new season and we look forward to welcoming our supporters back to Shamrock Park.

Away to Linfield last week was a tough start. I thought we played well in the first half and if we had taken a chance things could have been different however there’s no doubt that Linfield finished the game stronger.

At the moment we’re trying to integrate players into the team and the league and that will take a bit of time but we want to see as many supporters as we can at the game tomorrow giving their backing to the side and then going forward it’s going to be up to us to perform and get the results to keep you coming back as we aim to improve from last season.



The officials are – Referee – Steven Gregg / Assistant 1 – Kristian Hanna / Assistant 2 – Gavin Hegarty / 4th official – Jamie Robinson


MATCH SPONSOR – Manfreighthttps://www.manfreight.eu/




Online tickets for the game are available via https://tickets.portadownfc.co.uk/fixtures


For those unable to make it to Shamrock Park tomorrow the game will be live streamed on We Are Ports TV LIVE, the cost to purchase the game is £10 via https://portstv.com/?memberpressproduct=portadown-vs-coleraine-20-08-2022

Matchday Live makes it return tomorrow with Jonny Dunlop and Dave Wiggins on air from appox 1pm on the official Portadown Facebook page were they will be previewing the Coleraine game as well as chatting to players and management to get their thoughts and opinions on the Premiership clash with the Bannsiders.


Last Five Head to Head

  • Saturday 19 March 2022 – Portadown 2 (Salley, Anderson) Coleraine 0
  • Saturday 5 February 2022 Coleraine 2 (Kane, Carson) Portadown 0
  • Saturday 15 January 2022 – Portadown 0 Coleraine 0
  • Saturday 30 October 2021 – Coleraine 2 (Finnegan OG, Shevlin) Portadown 0
  • Tuesday 2 March 2021 – Coleraine 2 (Doherty (x2 pens)) Portadown 0


Last Five Head to Head at Shamrock Park (All competitions)

  • Saturday 19 March 2022 – Portadown 2 (Salley, Anderson) Coleraine 0
  • Saturday 15 January 2022 – Portadown 0 Coleraine 0
  • Saturday 24 October 2020 – Portadown 0 Coleraine 3 (Doherty, Glackin, McLaughlin)
  • Saturday 15 October 2016 – Portadown 0 Coleraine 1 (Lyons)
  • Saturday 12 March 2016 – Portadown 0 Coleraine 1 (Brown)